The Whole Loaf

Dairy-Free, Whole-Wheat Banana Bread

My dear little munchkin baby, I discovered not too far into her sweet life (after much projectile-renunciation of her lunches), is allergic to dairy. She’s entirely breastfed, so I knew she was reacting to something I was eating. Dairy is the most common infant allergy, and the first one I tried, but after just a short time of eliminating (most) dairy from my own diet, she quickly stopped throwing up and was much more cheerful in the evenings. Thus, much to my sorrow, I’ve become a dairy-free eater.

I also, however, eat like a pig, as these two little munchkins devour all of my insides as quickly as I can get them in! So in the middle of the night, with nothing in the cupboard but some nearly rotted bananas, I mashed up this recipe by modifying this one and this one online.

Dairy-free, Whole-wheat Banana Bread

  • 2-3 very ripe bananas, mashed with fork
  • 6 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup applesauce (sweetened, I think)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/2+ tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup oats (regular “old-fashioned” kind)

Pour it all into a medium bowl, in the order listed, and blend with a fork or wooden spoon as you go. Pour it into a greased bread pan and bake at 350° for 45-50 minutes, or, as it says at Must Follow Recipes, “until the tops are firm to the touch, the loaves pull away from the sides of the pan, and a cake tester inserted into the center comes out clean.”

And what do you put on your dairy-free toast when you’re out of fancy butter-less butter? All-natural Peanut Butter Banana Bread, of course! (Seriously— that combo is fantastic!)

If you make the recipe, please let me know what you think of it! Leave reviews and revisions in the comments box. Enjoy!

This entry was published on July 30, 2011 at 9:43 am. It’s filed under Fork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

